Using an external USB drive for the root file system of a Raspberry Pi

By design, a Raspberry Pi always requires an SD card to boot from. But one can still have its root partition located on an external storage device. Be it for reasons involving speed improvement, or avoid challenging the write endurance of an SD card.

The details in the following steps may vary based on the distribution of Linux being used, but the fundamental idea should be similar anyway:

At this point, the Raspberry Pi should boot from the SD card, but use the external USB drive for the root file system.

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Hello, world!

Just a few hours ago I didn’t even know that I would suddenly have the urge to write. Heck! I didn’t even know that I would be creating a blog for that. But now that my first post is live, I guess I will have to make it a habit. The... Continue →